Henry Charles Awerkamp

HENRY CHARLES AWERRKAMP was born 12 July 1873 in Quincy, Adams, Illinois.

HENRY married BERTHA LENA FROMME 11 Jan. 1898 in Quincy.
HENRY was employed by the State Savings, Loan and Trust company in Quincy.

Theresa Awerkamp, Henry Charles Awerkamp, Bertha Lena Fromme, Frank Awerkamp

HENRY went to San Francisco, California about 1906 to look for a job, About February he went to Los Angeles and found a job there, where his family joined him about 1908. Early in their time in California the family lived on Occidental Blvd. About 1917 they moved to Bell and had a house at 6792 Atlantic Blvd in Bell. He had worked for 23 years with the Guaranty Branch of the Security First National Bank at 7th and Spring St. in Los Angeles.

He worked for a number of years promoting the widening of Atlantic Blvd with the idea of erecting a large building on the acre of ground that he owned there.

Their children are Norma Hazel born 4 Feb 1900 in Quincy, Adams, Illinois
Edward Parker born 17 Jan. 1902 in Quincy, Adams, Illinois
Orval Arthur born 21 Jan 1908 in Quincy, Adams, Illinois
Leona Amelia born 1 Apr 1911 in Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California

HENRY passed away at his home Sunday evening 29 Mar 1931 at the age of 58. He was buried in Angeles Abbey.

BERTHA continued living in the home on Atlantic for the rest of her life. She passed away on Friday 28 August 1959 after being in the Westhaven Sanitarium in Los Angeles for awhile. Services were held at the Trinity Lutheran Church and her son Rev. Orval Awerkamp conducted the services. She was buried at the Angeles Abbey Mausoleum.

On the following page is a picture of the Awerkamp family in California about 1910. The people are – back row: Bertha L. (Fromme) Awerkamp, Henry Awerkamp, Theresa Awerkamp, Catherine (Hess) Awerkamp, Frank Awerkamp and wife Kate Sanders. Front row: Norma, Edward, and Lila, May, Ethel, and Stanley (Frank’s children)

Orval Arthur Awerkamp

Individuals tagged in this story:
Henry Charles Awerkamp (12 Jul 1873)
Bertha Lena Fromme (20 Mar 1874)

<< Back